Board of Education recognizes outstanding students


DAWSON COUNTY, Ga. — Tuesday’s Board of Education meeting which was primarily a night of recognition and the presentation of awards for outstanding achievements by students and school system employees attracted a standing-room-only audience.

Leading off the night, outstanding Dawson County High School sophomores Alex Hughes and Kena LeBaron received the Hugh O’Brien Award, selected by the Dawson County Women’s Club.

Hughes is a member of the Georgia Junior Golfers’ Association, an award-winning classical pianist and a member of the Future Business Leaders of America. He has earned a 4.1 overall grade point average (GPA). LeBaron is a member of the school’s varsity soccer team, an honor roll student and the National Honor Society and a member of the Future Career and Community Leaders of America. She is involved in theater and does volunteer work with special needs children.

Awards were also presented to winners of the spelling bee contests: Henry Beasley (BMES), William Holloway (RES), Benjamin Hunter James (RvES), Karen Miranda-Cruz (KES), Megan Bearden (DCMS) and Isaac Adams (DCJHS). The system winner was William Holloway (RES)
Isaac Adams (DCJHS) was the system runner-up.

Ian Norris won an award for his artwork.

The 8th grade Dawson County girls’ basketball team was honored for another outstanding performance that included winning the Mountain League Champions. Members of the team included Anna Ayers, Layne Bailey, Ellie Bishop, Heather Burt, Morgan Chester, Kindra Coker, Grace Nissen, Abby Samples, Jaci Wilson, Hayden Hand, Emily Gonzalez, Brianna Escoto. The coaches are: Natosha Beary, Ashley Tobias, Maddie Slaton, and Olivia Lane.

On Constitution Day, State Board of Education Superintendent Richard Wood sponsored an art contest inviting students to submit artwork that celebrated the Constitution, the United States of America, or the State of Georgia.  Dawson County Junior High School student Ian Norris submitted the winning artwork that was placed on display at the State Department of Education. He and his teacher Samantha Hewlett were recognized at Tuesday’s meeting.

Before going into executive session, the Board approved the Consent Agenda that included:

A resolution of approval of the bond parameters resolution, as presented, authorizing the issuance of up to $10,000,000 in bonds to be repaid by the ESPLOST 2020 and beginning the validation process;

School system guidelines for non-resident students and revised transfer student of $1,200 annually;

A resolution to allow the Superintendent to sign a new five-year lease agreement with the Dawson County Arts Council to allow them use of the Rock Building for $5,000 a year;

Overnight travel for participants in the state swim meet, state girls’ basketball tournament and the Health Occupation Students of America.


Fetch Your News is a hyper local news outlet that covers Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Fannin, Gilmer, Pickens, Union, Towns and Murray counties as well as Cherokee County in N.C. FYN attracts 300,000+ page views per month, 3.5 million impressions per month and approximately 15,000 viewers per week on and up to 60,000 Facebook page reach. If you would like to follow up-to-date local events in any of those counties, please visit us at



Leave a comment - Dedicated to serve the needs of the community. Provide a source of real news-Dependable Information-Central to the growth and success of our Communities. Strive to encourage, uplift, warn, entertain, & enlighten our readers/viewers- Honest-Reliable-Informative.

News - Videos - TV - Marketing - Website Design - Commercial Production - Consultation

Search - Citizen Journalists - A place to share “Your” work. Send us “Your” information or tips - 706.276.NEWs (6397) 706.889.9700

Back to Top

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!