Eason reelected Mayor, ESPLOST wins voter approval



Dawsonville, Ga. – Incumbent Dawsonville Mayor Michael M. Eason easily beat back a challenge from newcomer Durant Wright in Tuesday’s municipal election.

Eason, who was appointed mayor in 2017 then won a special election in March 2018, received 276 votes to Wright’s 118.

Wright is a young business entrepreneur who manages several family businesses, including convenience stores and storage facilities.

Another newcomer, John H. Walden, ran unopposed for Post 3 on the city council. Incumbent Post 1 City Councilman Caleb Phillips also ran unopposed.

Dawson County voters approved the $48 million Education Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax by a vote of 966 to 284.


Fetch Your News is a hyper local news outlet that covers Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Fannin, Gilmer, Pickens, Union, Towns and Murray counties as well as Cherokee County in N.C. FYN attracts 300,000+ page views per month, 3.5 million impressions per month and approximately 15,000 viewers per week on FYNTV.com and up to 60,000 Facebook page reach. If you would like to follow up-to-date local events in any of those counties, please visit us at FetchYourNews.com


Leave a comment

Back to Top

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!